The Importance of Writing

A timely post since all of my high expectations of writing at least a couple of times per week have slipped to the side a little bit. However, with my NaNoWriMo goal now on track and shared publicly, I plan to stick to my end of the bargain. So here goes, let’s talk about the importance of writing.

I like to think of myself as a writer and that is often how I introduce myself – as an aspiring author. However, there is one thing I probably don’t do enough to necessarily use that term… write. Sure, I write website content for Mi Business, and University assignments and even the occasional University assignment that is a creative writing assignment, but does any of that actually count as writing? I think it does.

Sure, it may not be creative writing in the sense of writing a poem or novel, but I am still using my brain to come up with every word I write on those pages and it’s often just as hard as creative writing – if not harder since there’s SEO (Search Engine Optimisation for those of you who don’t know what that means; I didn’t know either just a few short months ago) and a whole lot of other stuff I don’t fully understand yet to think about.

The key point in all of this is to write something. It doesn’t matter what it is, so long as you are comfortable writing it, and that you are exercising your creative muscles and making them stronger. It’s like knitting or cross stitch or crochet – don’t expect to get better at it unless you are constantly practicing your stitches and keeping correct tension.

It is only through practicing the art of writing that you will learn to grow and improve. In fact, that is part of what this blog is all about – to force myself to keep practicing my writing, for whatever audience I have. I bet I could look back at this very post in just a month’s time and realise how much I have improved in even that short amount of time.

So, for all of you out there, whether you practice sewing or soccer, crochet or card making, keep working at it, keep trying and don’t give up because the reward will come one day when you’ll look back on where you are at now and smile, remembering just how hard you thought it was at the time.

What is your important task? Is it writing like me or something else? Feel free to share in the comments.

One thought on “The Importance of Writing

  1. Pingback: How To: Generate Ideas | A Writer's Craft

Please leave any comments or questions here.

